The Caribbean

Fun Facts

There are 7,000 islands in the Caribbean but only 13 are independent.


The Caribbean includes the islands north of South America, east of Central America and Mexico, and southeast of the Gulf of Mexico.

The Bahamas and Turks & Caicos are not considered part of the Caribbean despite their geographic location.

Prior to European arrival, there were nearly 1 million indigenous people living in the Caribbean. 

The Caribbean was dubbed the West Indies because Columbus thought he was in India when he sailed there in 1492.

Approximately 10.7 million Africans were forced into slavery during the TransAtlantic Slave Trade. Most slaves were sent to the Caribbean and South America and ~ 390,000  sent to North America.